Menu Close

News

Answers to Bowls brain teasers – 6

First, a bit of information for you. In September 2018, the indoor game adopted the World Bowls Laws of the Sport (currently Crystal Mark v3.1). The same Laws now apply to both indoor and outdoor bowls. So the answers to these and previous questions apply to indoor as well as outdoor games. As has always been the case, there are some areas where the Controlling Body is able to stipulate certain conditions, so check the regulations for the competition.

1 Trial ends

How many bowls can you use during trial ends?

You can use any number of bowls up to the number that you will be using in the game. For example, for a four bowl singles game the maximum is four; for a three bowl triples game the maximum is three. You can also use a combination of bowls from different sets, if you want to see how they run on the rink, but you must not exceed the maximum number of bowls. When the game starts, you can only use bowls from the same set.

2 Dead or tied

What is the difference between a dead end and a tied end? What is recorded on the scorecard?

A dead end occurs when the jack has been moved outside the rink side boundaries or the end has been declared dead by players in singles, the skips or the umpire. It is not counted as a completed end, even if all the bowls required have been played.

A tied end occurs when it is agreed that the nearest bowl of each team is touching the jack; the nearest bowl of each team is the same distance from the jack; or there are no live bowls left within the rink boundaries. A tied end is counted as an end played.

Take a look at the scorecard.

End 5 was a tied end, and no score is recorded for either player on that end. The total score from the previous end, end 4, is carried forward to end 5.

Now let’s say that end 7 was declared dead. As far as the game and the scorecard are concerned, it never existed. Nothing is entered on the scorecard and the end is replayed. The scorecard shows the result for the replayed end.

The Laws of the Sport say that a dead end must be replayed from the same end but, with agreement of both skips, it can be replayed from the head end. This saves having to get all the bowls back to the original mat end.

Scorecard_1
Back to Top